When the Universe Says NO

I try to be the kind of person who looks on the bright side of difficult situations. The current difficult situation in my life being unemployment, and the bright side of unemployment being having tons of free time! With all of this free time (almost 3 months now), you think I would have written several chapters in my novel, or at least kept up with my beloved blogging buddies! But lately, I have found that my writing, along with my entire life (with the exception of my score in ‘Bejeweled’) has come to a sort of…

stand-still.

After facing more rejection in a few short months, than every school dance I attended in junior high, I’ve been in this downward slump:

Disappointed.

Frustrated.

Confused.

Here’s what I know: The Universe is on my side. Ask and I shall receive. Life always says YES. But why is the only response I’m hearing, NO?

Seriously, Universe, what’s your deal?

One thing I have been moving forward with with my excess of free time, has been my yoga practice. At the end of each class, in the quiet moments of shavasana, I’ve been able to reflect on this conundrum and try to find light in the dark abyss that is my current employment state. I’ve asked myself, is there something inside of me that is resistant to getting a job in the field I’ve been applying? The Universe says YES.

Sometimes rejection is a necessary part of reaching your goal, and sometimes it’s worth persevering until you’ve achieved it. I will be facing much more rejection when it comes time to publish my novel, and no amount of it will convince me it’s not worth pursuing. Other times though, rejection can be an indication that maybe it’s time to reevaluate your goal. Maybe no doors are opening for you on this path, because this path is not for you.

So what has brought me to this path I’m on? I can tell you for sure that it’s not passion. I haven’t been pursuing my dream career doing something I love. I’ve been pursuing a job that I know I could do, that I know will pay the bills. Practical? Yes. Passionate? Not so much.

With every NO the Universe has placed before me in the last few months, this truth has become more and more apparent. My own inner voice, acting through the Universe, has made itself heard after months of whispering on deaf ears. “Why do this, when you could do something you love? Something you’re passionate about? Something that’s not just okay, but is %^$#&* great!?”

Do I know what that is? Not exactly, but I have an idea. So I’m going to follow that idea and see where it leads me. Chances are, there will be set-backs on that path, too. But I think with an end-goal in mind that I feel passionately about, I will see that those “set-backs” are actually stepping stones, bringing me one step closer to doing what I love.

“There is nothing that is denied to you and when you do not see the outcome you desire in your life it is not because you have not been heard by Source, have not moved energy, or are not worthy, it is because your spiritual ‘yes’ and your material ‘yes’ are out of alignment.” Jennifer Hoffman, http://enlighteninglife.com

“You’ve got to follow your passion. You’ve got to figure out what it is you love–who you really are. And have the courage to do that. I believe that the only courage anybody ever needs is the courage to follow your own dreams.” Oprah Winfrey

“And in me wake hope, fear, boundless desire.”
George Macdonald

 

 

 

14 comments

  1. […] some of you know from my last post, I had been looking for a job for a few months. I ended my post with the realization that I needed […]

  2. Beautiful post. – I believe when we follow our heart, we are walking the path our soul intended. – I would agree with you on the doors that close before us. It would indicate to me that it was not the direction my soul wanted to walk in. Love & Light.

  3. My goodness sweety you have so much soul & wisdom for one so young! What an amazing post! I really mean that. I enjoyed reading this, as did Inion who has always been a big fan of you as am I. So many times in life we reach these roads. These self-reflecting moments when a deeper look into who we are and what our part is within this giant space of our universe is needed. The problem is, so many find a place of wondering or getting lost or as I tell my children, a numbing to life. The fact that you can step back and assess your life only shows your wisdom. The fact that you know that you must be able to pursue your passion only speaks volumes of what a passionate woman you are. Though I can’t offer a quick-witted solution or wave a wand to help you with this. I’m happy because I know that you don’t need that. You know who you are, what you should be doing, and what life means to you. Which means you are so ahead of the game. Now on a simpler note. It’s posts like this that have always made Inion and I so proud to be one of your networking friends. And because of that, and because you were one of the first persons to welcome us into this giant space of networking by befriending us and faithfully visiting our blog. We would like to nominate you for “The Reality Blog” Award, which we feel is greatly deserved. Just head on over to our blog for the details and congrats my friend!!!

    1. Thank you both so much for the kind words and the nomination! I’m sorry I’ve been MIA from the blogging world for a while. Things have been so busy, but your comment has reaffirmed my passion to get back at it. Thank you!

  4. Sorry for the late comment, I’m a little behind in my blog-reading. I think you would really enjoy the Science of the Soul newsletter that is coming out on the 15th this month. It’s about learning to hear your Higher Self. Sounds like something you are already learning to do. I hope you find what you’re looking for! Let me know if you’re interested in signing up for the newsletter!

    1. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I haven’t been keeping up with my blog reading lately but when I get back at it, I will look forward to reading yours!

  5. Your post today spoke to me. Why are not the doors opening? Finding my passion again are issues I struggle with. I am in the same boat sure there are lots of jobs I can do however they won’t satisfy me until I can find something to fuel my passions and make a difference. What path to take?

    1. I’m sure you’ve heard this question before, but it really helped to clarify things when someone asked me: What would you do if you knew that you couldn’t fail? I truly believe that when you put your energy towards doing something you *love*, failure becomes obsolete. I wish you all the best in your journey. Thank you for visiting my blog!

  6. What is it that you would really like to do? And what is it that you are currently applying for?

    1. Hi Moiz, I have been applying for regular office work, but I would love to do something in the area of nutrition or holistic healing. I’m not sure exactly where life will take me, but I’m excited for the adventure : ) Have a great day!

  7. It feels like many of us are at this point of needing to step back and find the nexus of what we love and what we do..Thank you for expressing it in such a beautiful way – and good luck!! Hopefully we’ll soon hear about your next venture..

    1. I’m so glad I took a step back and realized what path I was going down. Now, I’m excited about my future again. I don’t know exactly how it’s going to pan out at this point, but it’s a new adventure. One that I’ve been thinking about for a while. Thank you for your well wishes, Mimi. Have a great day.

  8. Thank you, it was a much needed read. I need to listen more to the voice within. Your blog just re affirmed that.

    1. It is very important to listen to the voice within. When left ignored for too long, we can find ourselves at a wall. I’m thankful that I woke up before I walked right into it! Thank you for reading, Jenn!

Leave a Reply

