Lemon Chia-seed Loaf (gluten-free)

It’s been almost 7 months since I’ve eaten gluten. I never thought that I could go for so long without eating wheat. Surprisingly, going gluten-free was not as hard as I thought it would be. However, if you’re considering going gluten free, know that you will have your moments…

…when you catch yourself nose deep in the paper bag of fresh bagels your husband brought home

…when you think you might sell your soul for a honey cruller from Tim Hortons.

…when a nice dinner out turns to a tantrum because the waiter forgot your salad.

Okay that last one didn’t really happen.  It was take-out from Arby’s and I burst into tears when we got home and I realized they forgot my salad and all I had to eat were a few slices of roast beef.

Gluten envy aside, eliminating gluten from my diet was the best thing I’ve ever done for myself, and the positives have far outweighed any difficulties. I don’t just feel better, I feel like I’ve been given a new life. It not only remedied a list of chronic ailments I was dealing with, but my mind feels clearer.

Anyways, the point is, going gluten free is worth it, and there are tons of great recipes out there that make life easier and your menu less restrictive. This recipe, courtesy of thingsmybellylikes.com, is delightful and tastes just like lemon poppyseed loaf.

I love how it calls for chia seeds rather than poppy seeds. Even if you eat gluten, I would make this substitute. Chia seeds are high in minerals like calcium, phosphorous and manganese, and also have a good amount of omega 3 fatty acids in them. Unlike other seeds like flax, they don’t need to be chewed in order to unlock the nutritional goodness. I’ve made this loaf a few times now and it will surely continue to be a favourite in my house.

Check out the original recipe here

  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 5 large eggs
  • 3 lemons, zest and juice
  • 3 tbsps plain yogurt
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (or melted butter)
  • 1 tsp coconut palm sugar
  1. Whisk together the eggs, coconut oil, yogurt and honey ’til smooth.
  2. Add the lemon zest and most of the juice, reserving a tbsp. Mix that tbsp with the tsp of sugar and set aside, you’ll need it later.
  3. Sieve the coconut flour into a large mixing bowl.
  4. Gradually pour the egg mixture into the coconut flour, stirring to form a semi-runny batter.
  5. Fold in the chia seeds and pour the batter into a greased loaf tin. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes.
  6. Remove from oven and make 4 to 6 vertical slits along the loaf.  Across these gently pour the lemon juice and sugar mix.

*Like anything baked with coconut flour, the texture is better after a day in the fridge.

6 comments

  1. #PS: my subscription has gone messed up, so now I am resubscribing to your blog, looking forward to reading more! 🙂

    Subhan Zein

  2. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving and are in the midst of a great Thanksgiving weekend!

  3. I never heard of chia seeds. Interesting.

    1. Oh really? You can usually find them in the health market section. I put it in my yogurt and cereal too.

  4. Thanks so much for sharing. I’m glad you enjoyed it (and glad that you’re loving the gluten-free life!). I also have thrown a few tantrums in restaurants…I’m surprised I’m not barred for life from many 🙂

    1. I’m glad I’m not the only one! Thanks again for sharing this great recipe.

Leave a Reply

