Miso Soup Recipe

Probiotics. So hot right now. Kind of like this bowl of miso soup. Coincidence?

A lot of people still think about soy as a health food. From what I know, soy can have restorative properties, but it has to be the right kind of soy. Most all soy used in North America is genetically modified. In studies with different animals, GM crops have been shown to cause allergic reactions, and disturbances in immune, digestive and reproductive functioning. Case in point; if you’re going to eat soy, opt for organic.

But even organically grown soy in itself may be fairly toxic. It was considered inedible by the Chinese until about 2500 years ago when they began to ferment it. The process of fermenting soybeans changes the composition, and makes it the health food that we know it as in the West; but for the most part, we don’t ferment our soybeans here. Healthy soy is organic and fermented.

Miso is a paste made of fermented soy and rice. It is packed with many vitamins and minerals, especially Vitamin K, and it is also a natural probiotic (great for gut health). Miso is a good source of protein for those who are trying to eat less meat, not to mention that it makes for a delicious soup stock.

Ingredients:

1 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

About 2 cups Thinly sliced vegetables( I use cauliflower, carrots, onion and mushrooms)

2 cups Organic Vegetable Broth

2 tbsp Organic Miso (I use yellow)

1 tbsp Nut Butter (I use tahini)

Directions:

1. In a large pot, cook thinly sliced vegetables in olive oil until they are soft.

2. Add vegetable broth and let it warm, then add miso and tahini. Mix well until it is all dissolved and let simmer for 5-10 more minutes.

**serves 2

Enjoy!

15 comments

  1. So true about the genetically modified food! Many soy “products” are not wholesome at all; only marketed as such…Thanks for the great recipe!

  2. I loved Miso Soup. Yum!! Thank you for sharing this, many blessings and much love to you! 🙂

    Subhan Zein

    1. Awesome, Subhan! Glad you enjoyed it : )

  3. Sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but my book, The Bellman Chronicles, will be FREE to download on Sept. 10 – 11! Check it out on my Amazon Kindle page.. You won’t be disappointed. And if you can slip me a review, I’d be forever grateful…

    1. Congratulations! I will look into that. I don’t have an e-reader yet, though. I really need to get one.

  4. never knew that you enjoyed cooking. nice addition to your blog. I specially like the fact that you post about food that is healthy and you bring it up informatively.

    1. Thank you! I do love to cook, and I’m happy to share what I’ve learned about nutrition going gluten-free.

  5. Sounds delicious! I love miso soup so much- I find it to be so comforting and warming!

    1. It really is a nice, light meal that you can feel good about eating because it’s full of good stuff : )

  6. Sounds DELISH!!! I will definitely have to try it! 🙂

    1. I’m sure you’ll like it! It IS delish : )

  7. I make miso soup all the time. I like the addition of the nut butter 🙂

    1. It’s a great, simple recipe. That’s the only way I do things!

  8. where can you buy organic miso? this sounds yummy & super easy – now it’s just a matter of buying some!

    1. I buy mine at the Health Market in my local grocery store. Depending on where you are, you may need to hit up a Whole Foods or a health food store to find it. It is very easy and delicious. Let me know if you like it!

Leave a Reply

