Green Smoothie

A year ago, I don’t think I’d ever used a blender. Now I use it almost every day for these delicious, nutrient-dense smoothies. I love starting my day off knowing that my body’s fueled well, and drinking these always gives me that peace of mind. Not to mention that I feel more energetic when I drink them.

I play around with what fruits and vegetables I use, depending on what I have in the fridge, so they turn out different every time that I make them. Some days they turn out red, other days they’re brown or green, but every day they are yummy in my tummy.

When I first started drinking them, I liked them a little sweeter, so I added more fruit. Since then, I’ve slowly added more vegetables and less fruit and my taste has adjusted away from the sugar. I’ve also begun adding flax meal and chia seeds for the omega 3’s, and sometimes I will add quinoa flour in place of protein powder.

**Serves 2-4 people

Ingredients:

Spinach (handful)

Kale and/or Collard Greens (handful)

1 Banana

1 Orange

Kiwi, strawberries and blueberries or whatever other fruit you have

2 Tbsp of Flax Meal

1 Tbsp of Chia Seeds

1 or 2 Tbsp of Quinoa Flour (or more if you don’t mind the taste)

1/2 tray of Ice

Water (about 1/2 cup)

Process:

Add all ingredients to a blender, blend until smooth and enjoy!

4 comments

  1. Oh, I do love me a wonderful green smoothie!

  2. Hi! I know it’s good for you and it’s absolutely healthy, but I still have trouble “drinking” a meal!

    1. Fair enough! I love them but not everyone does. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. […] Green Smoothie (truthletsandthoughtbits.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

