Homemade Almond Milk

One of the first changes that I made, when I set out to eat more mindfully was switching from cow’s milk to almond milk. Almonds are full of nutrition: they are rich in nutrients like vitamin E, magnesium, iron, fiber and calcium, to name a few. Almond milk is easier to digest than lactose milk, and doesn’t have all those nasty antibiotics, hormones and GMOs that are given/fed to cows. Score a billion, for me!

I started out using the store-bought almond milk, and even though I felt better without the dairy, I couldn’t ignore the long list of ingredients on the box; mostly preservatives that I couldn’t pronounce. When I heard that I could make my own, I was intrigued. When I made it for the first time and it tasted just as good as the store bought ones, I was ecstatic and haven’t gone back since.

Ingredients:

 1 cup of Raw, Unblanched, Unsalted Almonds

4 cups Filtered Water

3 tbsp Organic Maple Syrup (the real stuff, NOT Aunt Jemima)

1 tsp Cinnamon

Process:

  1. Soak almonds overnight
  2. Strain almonds and place in blender along with other ingredients.
  3. Blend until smooth. Add more water if necessary and repeat blending.
  4. Strain the mixture using a clean dish cloth, draped over a bowl.
  5. Pour strained milk into a jug, refrigerate, and enjoy!

You will be left with a substantial amount of almond pulp in the dish cloth. Save for later use in recipes like almond crackers or one of these creative recipes.

Gluten-Free “Wheat” Thins- Ready for the Oven

12 comments

  1. Tonight I decided I’m going to begin making my own almond milk and I remembered that you posted the recipe once. Little did I know that it was EXACTLY a year ago! I’m so glad that I easily found it (and especially that I remembered you posted it!). Thanks, again, and hoping to see some new posts from you!! 🙂

  2. 5mjlighmereapyr1986 · · Reply

    Reblogged this on Kachilla Kadlecik Diary.

  3. Wow! I didn’t realize how easy it would be. Thanks for sharing!!

    1. It really is easy and so much better for you than store-bought stuff. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Yummy! What a simple recipe. Going to have to try this some day.

    1. It really is great : ) I’ll share my recipe for homemade coconut milk soon, too!

      1. p.s. I would love your coconut milk recipe!!

  5. Holly Michael · · Reply

    Love this stuff. Used to make it. I need to do it again.

    1. I love it too, yum yum yum. It’s so easy once you do it a couple of times, isn’t it?

  6. I’ve been wondering about this. How long can you keep it and does it make more than 4 cups? Have you substituted vanilla for the maple syrup? Hope you don’t mind a few questions. Thanks

    1. Mine usually lasts about 2 weeks. It does separate a bit in the fridge, so I just ‘swoosh’ it around before I pour it. When I make it, my 6 cup blender is full, but I normally eyeball my measurements and I suspect I use closer to 1.5 cups of almonds and 5 cups of water. I have never substituted maple syrup for vanilla. I have added organic vanilla along with the syrup but I didn’t like the taste (I’m sure normal pure vanilla extract would taste better). I hope that helps! Let me know if you have any more questions.

      1. That helps alot. Thanks I’m going to try it.

Leave a Reply

