My Kind of Mother

It is my belief that before we come into the world, we choose our parents. The ones that we choose may not always say the right thing, or do the right thing–they may not be perfect–but we choose them still, because they are the only ones who can help us understand much of what we need to know in this lifetime.

This time around, I needed a very special kind of mother.

The kind that would love me, sing me songs, rock me to sleep, and look at me with eyes that said, ‘you are joy’


She would tell me secrets, laugh at my jokes and listen to my stories with an unwavering enthusiasm that said, ‘you are wise’

I needed a mother who would expect the best of me, even after I did wrong, with unconditional trust that said, ‘you are good’

I’m so glad I chose you, Mom. Thank you for always being you–exactly the way I need you to be.

 

17 comments

  1. Exquisite~

  2. hey i did that post on kreative blogger award, you’l probably like to check
    http://habibadanyalbarry.wordpress.com/2012/05/10/the-kreativ-blogger-award/

  3. Excellent post. Thank yo for sharing.
    anne

    1. Thanks Anne! I came across these old pictures and just had to share. Have a great week!

  4. You’re welcome! Your beautiful words and your life are a wonderful tribute to your mother!

    1. Thank you!

  5. What a wonderful tribute to your mom and the incredible relationship you share…:-)

    1. I hope that she likes it : ) Have a great week!

  6. All mothers are of divine source just like your own. All creation emanate from the mothers without whom no man or woman exists. Thank you for reminding us of the divine nature of the mother.

    Harun Rabbani
    Founder
    The Thousand Goddesses

    1. Yes, I believe we are all of a divine source. Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. Have a great week.

  7. Well said… those are some beautiful words 🙂

    1. Thank you very much!

  8. It’s wonderful that you would choose your mother! I wish that all mothers were as kind and giving. If they’re not, is it our fault for chosing them?

    1. I do believe that even if we choose a mother who isn’t always kind and giving that there is a lesson our souls need to learn from that experience. I am lucky that in this lifetime I have been loved and cared for by my mother; perhaps I’ve endured otherwise in another lifetime. Thank you for reading!

      1. Yes, I can agree that there are lessons our souls need to learn regardless of the circumstances of our birth. However, some of those lessons are very hard and cause incomprehensible suffering for the child, including abuse and even death. Therefore, I can’t believe that the child chooses this. I wish all parents had the best interests of their children at heart. There would be a lot less suffering and abuse in the world if they did!

      2. You are right. No child deserves to endure such abuse, and I’m sure they wouldn’t consciously choose it. My belief stems from the assumption that we exist beyond this immediate physical experience, and that in each lifetime our spiritual awareness is expanded by the lessons we learn; some of these lessons extremely painful.

        I am lucky to have a mother who chose to love me, despite some unthinkable lessons she’s had to learn on her journey. Like any mother, she is not perfect, but I am ever grateful for her strength as she dealt with such pain, and believe that everything we’ve been through together was exactly what my soul needed in this lifetime. Thank you for your insight, Patricia. I always appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

