Still

It’s that scary moment when you feel sadness without self-pity

When you embrace the pain, but have no desire to dwell in it

When you let it pass over you, without claiming you

It’s that scary moment that you know you are more than this pain

When you seek awareness over numbness

Love over destruction

It’s when you float above all the chaos, feeling it with a sense of knowing

That there is so much more

You are so much more

More than your emotions

More than what happens to you

More than the tiny dramas playing out

You are a limitless force

Expanding outwards

Infinite and wise

You are more powerful than you could ever imagine

It’s that scary moment when you finally know

Your heart speaks

Your head listens

And you stand there

Paralyzed

By fear

By words

By judgment

By emotion

By the external world

All the while knowing that these things mean nothing

Yet you stand there

Still

Photographed by Cale Klesko

19 comments

  1. Absolutely breathtaking and vivid. Vulnerable writing!! It’s almost as if you portrayed a writers artistic heart at its most fragile state, perfectly. Thankyou!

    1. Thank you for reading! I so appreciate your comment : )

  2. Asifa · · Reply

    Absolutely fabulous… I have had such a moment just a fortnight ago… I can completely connect to your words, as though you wrote it for me!!!

    1. I’m so glad to know that you related! It’s a powerful feeling, isn’t it?

      1. Yes!!!

  3. your words are electrifying, touch me deep down! and this is so like me, I stand “still” with you. Blessings and hugs.

    1. Thank you so much for the compliment! Thank you for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day!

  4. Good read, thank you!
    anne

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting! Have a great day!

  5. I enjoyed reading.I see so much can be different just by being still…and that inspite of it all!

    1. Thank you for reading! I am so glad that you enjoyed it.

  6. That… just about sums up my weekend… exhileratingly scary.

    1. It’s funny how that happens. I swear the posts on my ‘reader’ page are usually right on par with whatever it is I’m going through. The mysterious effect of synchronization never ceases to amaze me! Thanks for reading : )

      1. Then can you write something about winning the lottery please?? 😀

      2. Hahaha, I like the way you think…

      3. No, seriously, write something about winning the lottery… 😀

      4. You should read my post ‘What I’m Driving, What’s Driving Me’ It’s not the lottery, but it is close!

  7. What a magnificent post!

    1. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

