Pause.

Photographed by Matt Heykin

Before you leap out of bed in a hurry. Pause. Give thanks.

Before you take a bite or a sip. Pause. Enjoy.

When someone cuts you off on the way to work. Pause. Let go.

After you ask ‘how are you?’ Pause. Care.

As stress begins to overwhelm you. Pause. Breathe.

Before you take it all so seriously. Pause. Laugh.

Before you’re quick to give advice. Pause. Listen.

Before you turn on the TV. Pause. Connect.

When you feel your evening is slipping by. Pause. Be.

Before you say good night. Pause. Love.

Before you close your eyes. Pause. Dream.

Repeat.

21 comments

  1. […] Pause. (truthletsandthoughtbits.wordpress.com) […]

  2. The theologian and teacher Howard Thurman used to advise, “In the morning, before you get up, simmer. In the evening, before you fall asleep, simmer.” (OK, I paraphrase, I think.) Still, it’s great advice when you can manage it — that bit of time to collect yourself at the beginning and the end of the day. Now, if I can only get back into that practice myself!

    1. Thank you Carolina. I am so glad that you enjoyed it : )

  3. ps – we were on the front page of BlogHer for a few hours!

    1. Nice! All good news. Have a fantastic week!

  4. Hello. BlogHer.com just added The Pause as a featured post in the Family Topic section!!!!! They could not include your poem because of Fair Use but they linked to the poem on your blog and told people to check it out!!! Here is the link http://www.blogher.com/pause-3. Big day for both of us – Maybe!!

    1. Wow, that’s awesome! Congrats on having your article features and I am grateful for the extra views I got today because of it : ) Thank you, thank you!

  5. Wise words, indeed! Thanks for the reminder 🙂
    anne

    1. Thank you for stopping by t & t!

  6. Incisive! Thanks.

  7. […] is a beautiful and insightful poem called Pause written by S.L. Klesko.  Maybe you can print it and put it nearby so you can start to train your […]

  8. LOVE IT! Thank you!

    1. Thanks for visiting my blog : )

  9. Wonderfully wise words!

    1. Thanks Patricia! Have a great night.

  10. I absolutely love this post! it is brilliant! Can I post this as a guest blog?

    1. Of course you can. What a compliment! Thank you.

      1. Thank you! I have been working on a piece about pausing with my teenage daughter. It has made such a difference and there is more peace in my home. So when I saw your poem it was so perfect. I would like to discuss what I have been working on with my daughter and then put your poem in at the end of the post for people to turn to as a reminder. I can see people printing it and hanging it up as a beautiful reminder to pause. I will link it to your site (post) and also put your name on it. I think it is a very special piece of work.

      2. Sounds good to me. Thanks again, Allison.

Leave a Reply

