No Apologies: The Infinity of Prosperity

After last week’s post, What I’m Driving, What’s Driving Me, I received a message from a good friend of mine. (If you haven’t read it, I told a story about how in a serendipitous turn of events, the Universe provided for me, at a time when I really needed it). My main message was that ‘the Universe always provides”. My friend wondered how someone living in poverty would take such a message. She imagined they would be deeply insulted by such a statement because it wouldn’t at all reflect their experience with money. She said: “I feel like if I told them that the Universe always provides, they would spit in my face and ask me where that support was.” I am thankful to have people in my life who are willing to challenge me, and who actually read my blog (hoorah!). Her powerful words stuck with me and got me weighing some serious questions.

If the Universe always provides, how is there such dissonance between people? How is it that I am sitting here blogging about feeling prosperous, while others are on the street feeling helplessly broke? Have my experiences with money shaped my beliefs or have my beliefs shaped my experiences with money?

Louise Hay Affirmation Card

As I often do in times of quandary I turned to my 86 year old spirit sister Louise Hay for wisdom, and found this excerpt from her book:

“The first time I heard the concept, “the abundance of the Universe is available to everyone,” I thought it was ridiculous. “Look at all the poor people,” I said to myself. “Look at my own seemingly hopeless poverty.” To hear, “Your poverty is only a belief in your consciousness” only made me angry. It took me many years to realize and accept that I was the only person responsible for my lack of prosperity. It was my belief that I was “unworthy,” and “not deserving,” that “money is difficult to come by,” and that “I do not have talents and abilities,” that kept me stuck in a mental system of “not having.”

When people respond in bitterness and anger at the news of someone else’s success, they send the message out to the Universe that such success is not what they want. Prosperity (health, wealth, happiness) is not limited and it is not exclusive. It is an infinite source that is available to all who are open to it. To me, it’s more of a way of thinking than it is a tangible label.

Photographed by Cale Klesko

By all quantitative measures, I am not wealthy. I get by from pay cheque to pay cheque, am living mostly off of student loans, and am more in debt than I am in the clear. My wardrobe is getting incredibly ratty, and I haven’t splurged on a haircut in almost a year. Like anyone else, crap happens: my computer needs repair, my appliances stop working and my car breaks down. As I’m writing this, it is clear to me that I don’t identify with this story of lack at all. It feels completely foreign to me, actually. Despite all of these “facts” about my life, I feel absolutely prosperous. I am healthy, I am fulfilled, and the Universe always provides for me.

I am sure that some people read ‘t & t’ and see it as naive, or idealistic. I have no doubt that many people come across my blog and quickly dismiss it because they don’t relate to the content. Heck, I’m used to the quick dismissal. I rarely find people who relate to me in real life! Perhaps my friend is right, and I have even written something that might offend others of a different mindset. To these people I must say, I am sorry that your experiences have led you to believe anything other than ‘ the universe always provides’, and I wish you love and joy in all of your endeavors. I’m sorry, but I’m not sorry at all.

I could very easily obsess about my exponential debt and this blog would be a whole different creature, but what good would that do me or my readers? Where your mind goes, your energy flows, and I choose to focus on all of the areas in life that I am wealthy, and that is saying a lot. In terms of things that I am grateful for, I am very, very wealthy, and there’s no shame in that.

16 comments

  1. Poverty is a state of mind, not a state of body, so it is impossible to judge from the outside – especially at a glance- whether someone else is either rich or poor. The classic story is of the Peace Corps worker, feeling sorry for the “poor” family living in a mud hut, and then discovering in conversation one day how rich and blessed they feel. In my own experience, I can go from feeling rich to poor and back again over the course of hours. As your blog often says, it’s all a matter of where I put my focus.

    1. Well said. Money is wonderful, and available to all, but it is not the end all be all. There’s much more to feeling prosperous than having a full wallet. That’s for sure! Thank you for your thoughtful comment.

  2. […] No Apologies: The Infinity Of Prosperity Share this:TwitterEmailFacebookLinkedInRedditTumblrPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  3. exactly what I think. although i published my post yesterday but since I found this post of yours today only, i m editing my blog to add it in the recommended articles.

    1. I read your post and really puts things into perspective. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I love this post. And I too, am a big fan of Louis Hay. Its incredibly hard for me to follow sometimes, but if you can let go and trust in the Universe, it will always provide you the means and support to live your life and conquer your dreams.

    1. It can be very tough to stay optimistic and grateful when things go wrong. As long as we get to that space eventually, I think we’re doing okay.

  5. This post is great, oh no, it’s ‘tremendously awesome’! 🙂
    I surely can relate very well to your situations.. Keep inspiring, my lovely friend! 🙂

    Subhan Zein

    1. Thanks Subhan! I appreciate your support.

  6. I so resonate with your vibes ! Every word you write here is so wise and I relate 100% with what you say. The universe does always provide all we have to do is ‘allow’ ourselves to receive. The more positive we are the higher the frequency of our vibrations, so we attract more of the ‘good stuff’. If we are feeling negative our thoughts must be negative whereas if we feel good our thoughts must be good. I work with the LOA every day of my life, I am so conscious of this law that I feel in alignment with it most of the time. Thank you for sharing this blog its absolutely brill.

    1. Thank you so much for your comments. I’ve been feeling very in-line with the LOA lately, as well. Sometimes it manifests in positive ways, like in my previous post, and sometimes in unwanted ways that make me aware of what useless thoughts I’m still holding onto… sigh. Either way, the Universe is working for me and what I’m putting out there!

  7. This post is needed. Your thoughts are in line with what your spirit tells you. This blog is authentic, sometimes in life people have a hard time in identifing with life’s truths because they are yet to see it. Keep writing your truth. 😉

    1. Thanks for the comment and for reading!

  8. Great post. Most of all, I like your courage to face and answer the questions that really challenge your beliefs. It gives me courage to do the same.

    1. Thanks Allison, I’m glad you enjoyed it! Challenging our beliefs can be difficult, but very necessary. I’m glad I have people in my life who think differently than I do as it makes my perspective more comprehensive in the end.

Leave a Reply

