What I’m Driving, What’s Driving Me

Six months ago, my husband ‘B’ entered into his first fantasy hockey league. Having spent days researching players’ statistics, he had his whole team planned out by the time it came to draft day. He had first draft pick, meaning he could solidify his most important player: Carey Price. Because it’s an internet league the selections are timed and just as it was his turn to choose his first player, the internet failed. While restarting the computer, it automatically picked someone else for him: Anze Kopitar. Putting it lightly, he cursed the fates and our internet provider for completely throwing off his plans.

While B carried on with his season as best he could, we were scraping by on the tail end of our student loans. Our bank account was exceptionally low and we still had another 3 months before the next student loan would come through. Knowing that money worries bring money troubles we were determined not to freak out. We trusted that we would have more than enough to last until our next cheque. We budgeted, without deprivation from luxuries like eating well and going out with friends (Some might see this as frivolity, but I live by the rule: if you’re stingy with life, life will be stingy with you). We continued to pay our bills with love for the services they provided us, and carried on without (much) worry.

On B’s birthday, our car stalled while in gear. The power steering went, the brakes went, and we were lucky to pull over to the side of the road without an accident. The car wouldn’t restart and my husband was having a hard time staying calm. It was his birthday, after all, and now he had to deal with getting a tow to the auto shop that was already closed, paying for repairs and renting a car in the meantime. Not exactly what we had planned.

The same week our car broke down, B had somehow made it to the finals in his hockey pool. It was a typical underdog story, and he went from being the 8th seed, to facing off for 1st place. The last round was extremely close but in the end, B won from one point. One. Single. Point. Did I mention that it was by Anze Kopitar and that the first place prize was $300?

The Universe always, always, always provides. In that same week, we received money from all sort of unexpected places. Cash in the mail for B’s birthday, cheques from a couple of refunds and reimbursements that we had forgotten about. I even got a raise. What’s more is we received a very generous personal loan to invest in a newer, more reliable vehicle. Talk about seeing the Law in action!

Even six months before we were in need, the Universe was preparing to provide for us. The lesson that’s been on my mind this week is that there is no point in cursing the little things that divert your plans, because you don’t know how they might help you in the bigger picture. The best thing you can do is go with the flow and trust that things don’t just happen TO you, they happen FOR you. I find myself feeling powerful yet humbled. With all of the separate players and forces in the Universe, we can’t ever completely comprehend the bigger picture of our lives. It is fueled by a force that is far beyond us, yet also, the very essence of us. While we drive the Universe, the Universe also drives us.

Photographed by Matt Heykin

“Life is like a board game, we have the power to roll the dice and choose the paths we want to take, but we never know how many steps we are going to have to take or what is on the paths ahead.” Unknown

24 comments

  1. All things for a reason…and generally a good one, I find! Great post!
    anne

    1. Absolutely. We can’t possibly see how all of the little things add up to make our future! Might as well trust and know it’s all for the best.

  2. Having experienced similar situations I know the feeling of when things look utterly desperate and not sure what to do (living in a foreign country and the company went bankrupt and hadn’t payed me or my company apartment’s rent), things worked themselves out eventually and have continued to do so; bankruptcy was 4 years ago and I’m still in that foreign country.

    1. Thanks for sharing your experience. I’m coming into some more hard times here, and it helps to know that things will all work out. Life isn’t meant to be easy, right? It’s how we respond to the stressors : )

      1. If life were easy it would be boring. I think you can tell a lot about a person in how they response to stress. I fluctuate between the extremes depending on the situation 🙂

      2. Me too, me too. Some days are harder than others to remain optimistic!

  3. great post, I love seeing the LOA in action.

    1. Thanks Angela! Have a good one.

  4. Anonymous · · Reply

    Great post, I love seeing the LOA in action.

  5. Great post thanks for sharing. Love starting my week with a feel good story, and confirmation that the universe always has our backs 🙂

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it, Sally! Little miracles like this are happening all the time.

  6. I completely agree and am going through a similar situation myself. Its so hard, but if you can trust in the Universe and have faith, it will ALWAYS provide for you

    1. Yep, it sure does! Trust the process and go with the flow, my friend : )

  7. “While we drive the Universe, the Universe also drives us.”
    Do you realize just how cool you were there?

    1. Haha, I appreciate that. Thanks : )

  8. i wonder why i wasnt notified about this post….

    1. Hmm, I’m not sure about that. But I have noticed the same thing about not being notified about some other peoples’ posts. Thank you for reading. Have a great day!

      1. oh my…u wish me a great day and i get nominated for the versatile blogger award!!! 😀

      2. Haha, that’s awesome! Congrats!

  9. What a fantastic story! I love this, so glad you shared it!

    1. Thanks! I just couldn’t believe it when B told me about how he won. Too serendipitous to be coincidental.

    1. Thanks : )

Leave a Reply

